Rekado: Filipino Comfort Cuisine

Filipinos as we are, we love to eat. Yes. Eating while gathering with the people we love, with the people we want to treasure, with people we want to laugh with and with the people whom God sent to be beside us in times.

As blessings would have it, I have been now an employee under a BPO company for a year and twenty-two days, to be exact. Now to celebrate our work anniversary, I and two of my officemates, whom I was hired along with at the same time of the year, decided to go on a lunch date. We were yet undecided where to go since Davao, now booming in a much faster rate, has so many good places to go eat at. By the last minute, Pj, one of my buddies for this lunch date suggested a place, REKADO. This is located at 1050 Jacinto Extension, Bgy. 11-B, Davao City. Both me and Mitch (the other officemate I spoke of earlier) are unfamiliar of this restaurant since it has opened just recently. In addition, Pj has only heard of this place through Facebook and hasn’t eaten there since. So we set off to Rekado! 

Upon entering, I got all excited. Haha. So I wasn’t able to take photos of the inside, especially their sophisticated counter. Though it may sound like an exaggeration, I found it elegant and intimidating (in a stylish way). Maybe because it was just my first time to come to the place, so I felt that way.

Now, let’s go down to the foods that we had, though they were just some of the many options from their menu. First off, we had the:

Baby Back Ribs that is good for 3-4 persons, but if you are hungry enough, you can have it all. And oh, I’ll tell you something about this baby we have here. It actually makes you hungry, and hungrier. In other words, it’s sumptuous enough to not share it with the others. Haha. 😉

20150711_132612
Baby Back Ribs for P195 (half back) and P390 (full back).

Crispy Pork Binagoongan that is good for 2-3 persons. But then again, bagoong is such a perfect appetizer, so you might not want to share this with the others (again, just like the ribs). Haha.

20150711_124725
Crispy Pork Binagoongan for P250.

Kare-kare that is good for 3-4 persons. Actually, I wasn’t able to have a taste of it since I was so into my crispy pork binagoongan (P.S. My favorite) Lol. So I can’t really convince you to have a go at it as well. But, if this is listed as your favorite, I know this will be worth the try – just like the other dishes they have.

Kare-kare for P495.
Kare-kare for P495.

Kalderobo that is good for 2-3 persons. Kalderobo is actually a combination of Kaldereta and Adobo. It is one of their unique servings, I should say. You can have your own judgment for this dish, but let me tell you that this is second best in my list among the foods that we had that day.

Kalderobo for P320.
Kalderobo for P320.

Oriental Chicken Pasta that is good for 2-3 persons. If you are not into heavy meals, there are also options like the pastas. They have three on the menu, and this is one of them. If you like spicy stuffs, I suggest you get a fork of the oriental chicken pasta, or you can have the whole plate. 😀

20150711_124938
Oriental Chicken Pasta for P275.

Chocolate Milkshake, ofcourse, good for people who go solo. After having the heavy meal, milkshakes may not be the best option to have as your beverage. But for some reasons, we just ordered this. Haha. For experience’s sake.

Chocolate Milkshake for P95.
Chocolate Milkshake for P95.

Watermelon Shake. One of their fresh fruit shakes. I wasn’t able to try this one but judging by the general (the good general) taste of watermelon, it will be worth the sip.

Watermelon Shake for P90.
Watermelon Shake for P90.

And after the happy meal, together with the cheerful chitchats, we ended the lunch date by paying our bill. Haha. All in all, we had P2,486 order total. I haven’t taken photos of the other food that we had had. Food over photo was my motto that day. Lol

If you are looking for a cozy place to eat at, one of my recommendations would be Rekado Davao. P.S. I am not that of a food critic, but I can tell if food is good or not. Rekado passed my test. I’m going to visit again actually to try the foods that we didn’t have that day. And ofcourse, thank you Rekado Davao for the amazing treat for our anniversary lunch date! Worth the bill and worth the time!

You can contact #RekadoDavao through the following information:

Address:
1050 Jacinto Extension Street Barangay 11-B, Davao City 8000 Philippines Telephone Number: (+63-82) 284-2136
Mobile Numbers: (+63) 915-722-9299
Facebook Page: Rekado Davao
Instagram: @rekadodavao
Store hours:
Sunday – Friday
Lunch 11:00AM – 2:00PM
Dinner 5:00PM – 10:00PM
Merienda 2:00pm – 5:00pm

“To God be All the Glory, Honor and Praise!”

One thought on “Rekado: Filipino Comfort Cuisine

  1. Hi Rose. So nice to hear from you. Love Filipino food and people.Worked in an NHS hospital in the UK with many of your fellow countryrman and enjoyed evening of eating and karaoke! Thank you so much for liking my poems !Biting Wind! Hidden! and Wooden Door!” Be Safe and Well. #TheFoureyedPoet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

